Manage Groups New

This article covers how to manage Internal and Public alerting groups.

You can create either a Public or Internal group within Konexus (known as AlertSense in the government sector). Internal groups are only available for communication within the tenant, and users are assigned to these groups by an administrator. Public groups are available for public communication and allow users to manage their own group membership.

Creating and Managing Groups

  1. From the drawer menu, click on Manage Groups under Resources.
  2. To add a new parent group (a group which other groups can be nested under), simply click the Add Group button Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Screenshot 8 in the top right corner of the card.
  3. Fill out the necessary Basic Information (classification and name) and click Submit Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Submit Button
  4. To create a child group underneath a parent group, click on the group name that you want to begin nesting.
    Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Screenshot 1-1
  5. Click Add New Child Group and give that new group a name.
    Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Screenshot 2
    Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Screenshot 3 Not Blurred

Linked Child Groups

For advanced users, you can also add groups as linked children so administrators who may be locked into seeing only certain groups can send alerts to a group but won't be able to add/remove/delete any members from that group.

  1. To add a group as a linked child, click Add Existing Group as Linked Child.


A Linked Child group is indicated as a chain link icon next to the group so admins know the data is linked from somewhere else and not maintained by them.

Fill Out Basic Information

  1. Enter basic information about your group characteristics on the Basic Information section of the card. Public groups and Internal groups will have different Basic Information fields.
    • Public Group and Internal Group Basic Information Card Fields 
      • Classification: You can set your group as a Public or Internal group with this dropdown menu.
      • Visible Public User Form (not included on Internal Group Basic Information Card): Clicking this checkbox makes the group visible on the public user form.
      • Default Public Group (not included on Internal Group Basic Information Card): Checking this box causes this group to be selected by default for public users who sign up. This group will appear under the public user form's Default Notification Group section.
      • Parent: This dropdown list allows you to select the parent group under which the child group should be placed. This field should be automatically selected when you create a new group.
      • Group Name: The group's title. This title should provide a clear description of the members in the group.
      • Full Path: The unique, fully qualified name of the group that indicates the group's nesting structure.
      • Added On: The group's creation date. This field may also display the username of the group's creator.
      • Notes: This section can include a short description of the group.

Though Internal and Public groups have different card fields, the fields that the two group types share have the same descriptions.

2021-08-05 (2)-1

Assign Group Keywords

Under the basic information for public groups, you'll have the option to assign groups keywords. To learn more about how to assign keywords to groups, read the Manage Keywords article.

Adding Users to a Group

If you will nest other groups under the group you are creating, do not add members to the group.

  1. Select the group you wish to add users to.
    Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Screenshot 6
  2. Under the Group Internal Members section of the card, click or search for any name in the Available Members selection box.
  3. Select a member by clicking on their name. Once a name is selected, it will move to the Selected Members box.
  4. To remove users from a group, click their name in the Selected Members box and they will return to the Available Members box.
    Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Screenshot 7

If a user texts the correct short code a keyword associated with a group, their phone number will be added to the system, and they will automatically become a member of that keyword's associated group. If their phone number was not already in the system, they will be added as a contact with Text-To-Join listed as their last name and their phone number listed as their first name. 

Editing and Deleting Groups

  1. To edit a group, click on the group name, change the necessary information, and click Submit Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Submit Button.
  2. To delete a group, click Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Delete Button next to the title of the group that you wish to delete.
    Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Screenshot 9

If there are child groups nested under a parent group, the parent group cannot be deleted. Deleting a group will not delete any keyword(s) associated with the group.