1. Knowledge Base
  2. Administrator Functionality
  3. Creating and Managing Signup Keywords for Public Groups

How to Manage Keywords

Keywords allow a user to subscribe to, or unsubscribe from, your messages when they text the keyword to a specific short code (#38276). In this article, you'll learn how to manage keywords with Konexus.

 

Create Keywords

  1. Select Keywords from the drawer menu.
  2. Click the blue plus button 2021-08-04 (2) to create a new keyword. Keywords must contain between 3 and 10 characters.
  3. Once you have written the keyword and a description, click Create.
    2021-08-04 (1)
  4. A success message will appear, and the new keyword will be visible on the Keywords card.

Assign Group Keywords

Available keywords can be assigned to groups under Manage Groups so users can join a specific group when they text the correct keyword to a short code.

Keywords can only be assigned to Public groups.

  1. Assign keywords to a group by clicking a keyword from the box on the left, Available Keywords. The selected keyword will then move to the box on the right, Assigned Keywords.
  2. To dissociate a keyword with a group, click on the keyword under Assigned Keywords. The keyword will move back to Available Keywords.

Knowledge Base_New Manage Groups_Screenshot 5

SMS Opt-In and Opt-Out

  1. Subscribers can opt in to specific groups by texting a group's associated keyword to this short code: 38276.
  2. Subscribers can also opt out of messages by texting STOP to the correct short code.

If someone opts out of a group, they won't receive messages from any group with the same associated keyword.

Screenshot_20210804-104016-2

To learn more about how to manage Konexus groups, read the Manage Groups article.

Edit Descriptions and Delete Keywords

You cannot edit a keyword once it is created, but you can edit the keyword's description.

  1. To edit a keyword's description, click on the keyword from the Keywords card.
  2. Edit the description and click Save.
    2021-08-04 (4)

Delete a Keyword

You have two options for deleting a keyword.

Option 1

  1. From the Keywords card, click the delete symbol 2021-08-04 (10) located next to the keyword that you wish to delete.
    2021-08-04 (9)-1
  2. Confirm that you want to delete the keyword.

Option 2
  1. To delete a keyword, click on the keyword from the Keywords card.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. Confirm that you want to delete the keyword.
  4. A keyword removed message will appear after you have deleted the keyword. The keyword will no longer be visible on the Keywords card and won't be available for selection under Manage Groups.
    2021-08-04 (6)

If you accidentally delete a keyword, you can recreate the same keyword and associate the word to the keyword's previous groups. Deleting a keyword won't delete people associated with a keyword's group. If you delete a group, keywords associated to the group will not be deleted.